Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Terri Lynne Lokoff/Children's TYLENOL, Children's ZYRTEC National Child Care Teacher Awards

Awards to USA Child Care Teachers to Recognize Excellence in Early Child
Care Education and to Fund Projects that Enhance Classroom Learning

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Terri Lynne Lokoff Child Care Foundation (TLLCCF)

Deadline Date:

01/29/20 Postmarked


Request a Grant Writer

Awards of $1,000 and one award of $2,000 to USA child care teachers to recognize excellence in providing early childhood education and to fund projects that enhance classroom learning. Each award winner receives $500 for the teacher's discretionary use, and $500 to implement the child care project. Recipients will be honored at an award ceremony that will take place in the spring in Pennsylvania.

Out of the 50 teachers, one receives The Helene Marks Award and the honor of being named the National Child Care Teacher of the Year, and receives an additional $1,000. Contenders for this award are the top ten scorers of the 50 recipients who answer a series of questions; scores based on a rubric. 

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 177427

Estimated Total Program Funding:


Number of Grants:

50; One teacher will also receive the Helene Marks National Child Care Teacher of the Year Award

Estimated Size of Grant:

Fifty teachers win each year and each award recipient receives $500 for the teacher's personal use and up to $500 to implement the project. Out of the 50 teachers, one receives The Helene Marks National Child Care Teacher of the Year Award and receives an additional $1,000.

Awardees will also benefit from:
- An Award Ceremony that takes place each Spring in Pennsylvania
- Paid hotel and transportation are provided for the recipients
- A paid trip to historic Philadelphia
- A meeting with peers and exchanging ideas
- An excellent educational experience
- A fun-filled weekend with: Philly Welcome Reception, Brunch Event, Recipient Dinner, Awards, and more

Term of Contract:

Fifty teachers win each year.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Child care teachers from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and on U.S. Military bases and installations around the world are invited to apply. Teachers working at for-profit, non-profit, and religious-affiliated childcare centers are welcome to apply for the awards.

The Following Criteria Must Be Met In Order for an Application to be Considered:
- Applicants must be full-time childcare teachers employed in a home, group or center-based program that is fully
compliant with local and state regulations for operating child care programs. Applicants must work a minimum of 32 hours per week, 12 months per year at the same center. Teachers must be with the same children for 10 consecutive months.
- Applicants must be working as paid, full-time child care teachers in their current regulated program for a minimum of 36 consecutive months (3 years by December 2019).
- Applicants may apply having worked in a teaching position for the same child care entity for 36 consecutive months (3 years) in more than one location.
- Applicants employed by a U.S. Military childcare facility in their current location for a minimum of 12 consecutive months.
- Programs must be open a minimum of 9 hours a day, 5 days a week, 12 months per year.
- Applicants must be teachers of infant, toddler or preschool age children.
- Only one teacher per application may apply for this award.
- Only one application per center may be submitted.
- Multi-site agencies may submit one application per site.
- TLLCCF Child Care Teacher Award winners from 1994 to 2015 may reapply.
- Full day Head Start with wrap-around care programs. Teachers must be with same children all day.

Not Eligible:
- Teacher Award recipients who’ve won the Award twice.
- Teachers of part-day Head Start without Wrap-around Care Programs or other part-day preschool programs.
- Teachers of kindergarten children in childcare or other settings.
- Teachers of school age children in childcare settings. (i.e. before/after school programs).
- Administrative Teachers (staff who have administrative responsibilities that prevent them from being a full-time teacher.)
- Co-teachers or teaching teams are not eligible to share this award (Only one recipient per award).
- TLLCCF Child Care Teacher Award winners from 2016 to present.
- Projects that include capital improvements to centers/homes will not be considered.
- Applications completed, revised or modified by anyone other than the applicant (including but not limited to a
grant writer, director, or any administrative staff) are not eligible.
- Projects that are less than $500 cost, without budget-specific allocations, will not be considered.

If project costs exceed $500, applicants must indicate if additional funds have been secured, and the source of those funds. If project costs are less than $500, applicants must indicate how the balance will be used for the children’s benefit.

Pre-Application Information:

Full Applications must be completed and postmarked by January 29, 2020.

All applicants will be notified by mail if they have won by mid-March 2020.

For a list of previous award recipients, see:

For a list of sample projects, see:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Send completed Applications to:

Terri Lynne Lokoff Child Care Foundation - TR
100 Ross Road, Suite 160
King of Prussia, PA 19406


Hours: Monday - Thursday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Grant Coverage Areas:

Child care teachers from all 50 states, the District of Columbia and on U.S. Military bases and installations around the world

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming