Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Summer Graduate Student Research Fellowships

Fellowships to USA and Canada MA Students and
First-Year Ph.D. Students for Holocaust Research

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum - The Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Fellowships to USA and Canada master's degree students or first-year Ph.D. students of all academic disciplines to research and write about the Holocaust. Funding is intended to help students share research findings, test ideas, debate interpretive or methodological processes, and develop frameworks for projects.

Proposed research projects should make use of the Museum's collections.

Summer Graduate Student Research Fellows work with assigned staff mentors, who will advise scholars on their project goals and help guide their research in the Museum collections. Occasional seminars are also planned in order to introduce fellows to key subjects, essential tools, and useful methods and approaches, as well as career opportunities in Holocaust research.

Fellows are expected to participate in scheduled training seminars led by Museum staff, which introduce them to key subjects, essential tools, useful methods and approaches, as well as career opportunities in Holocaust research.

In addition to English, applicants are encouraged, but not required, to have fluency in one or more of the following languages: German, Russian, Polish, Romanian, Hebrew, Yiddish, French, Dutch, Hungarian, Slovakian, Italian, and/or Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 187253

Estimated Size of Grant:

The Mandel Center will provide a stipend of $3,000/month as well as an allowance to offset the cost of direct, economy-class travel to and from Washington, DC. Local awardees will not receive a travel allowance.

Term of Contract:

Graduate Student Research Fellows for the 2020 year are required to be in residence at the Museum for 12 consecutive weeks, arriving on June 1 and departing on August 21, 2020.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Open to students accepted to or enrolled in an MA program or in their first year of a PhD program at a North American college or university. Students who have completed more than one year of doctoral work, or who are enrolled in a program at a foreign institution, will not be considered.

The Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies is unable to provide visa assistance for non-US citizens.

Pre-Application Information:

- Application deadline: January 15, 2020
- The Mandel Center will notify all applicants of the selection results in April 2020.
- Fellowship duration: June 1 – August 21, 2020

Letters of recommendation should be sent as attachments from the recommender, not the applicant.

Application Information:

Application Materials and Guidelines:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply online:

For more information, and to submit letters of recommendation:
Samantha Hinckley

Visiting Scholar Programs
Jack, Joseph, and Morton Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
100 Raoul Wallenberg Place, SW
Washington, DC 20024-2126
Main telephone: 202.488.0400
TTY: 202.488.0406

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming