Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Postdoctoral Research Fellowships

Fellowships to USA Postdoctoral Trainees
for Mentor-Guided Research Related to Epilepsy

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

American Epilepsy Society (AES)

Deadline Date:

01/08/20 5:00 PM Eastern Time


Request a Grant Writer

Fellowships of up to $50,000 to USA qualified postdoctoral fellows conducting research in the field of epilepsy. Funding is intended to support postdoctoral trainees conducting basic, translational, or clinical research into the causes, treatment, and consequences of epilepsy and the implementation of epilepsy management under the guidance of a mentor with expertise in epilepsy research. 

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 184916

Number of Grants:

The number of awards granted each year is contingent upon available funds.

Estimated Size of Grant:

The fellowship award offers up to $49,000 for stipend and/or benefits, $1,000 for travel support to the AES
annual meeting, as well as one year of complimentary AES membership and registration for the AES annual

Term of Contract:

In general, the award term should be July 1, 2020-June 30, 2021. However, a delay of up to 3 months (beginning no later than October 1, 2020) in the start date is permitted if necessary.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Applicants must:
1. Hold a M.D., Ph.D., Sc.D., PharmD, RN, or equivalent degree
2. Be a postdoctoral fellow at an appropriate institution before the start date. Researchers with nonindependent faculty positions such as Instructor, Adjunct Professor, Research Assistant Professor, or nontenure track Assistant Professor may apply if they are working under the supervision of a primary investigator but are strongly encouraged to outline a clear plan for transition to independence. Researchers
with appointments at the level of Associate Professor are not eligible, nor are graduate or medical students, medical residents, permanent government employees, or employees of private industry.
3. Have a defined research plan and access to institutional resources to conduct the proposed project
4. Have a qualified mentor(s) with expertise to supervise and provide guidance on the specific aspects of epilepsy-related research targeted in the proposal. The mentor must not also be serving as the primary mentor for any other applications for early career grants to AES and must not be submitting a Junior Investigator Research Award
5. Have not previously been awarded an AES or Epilepsy Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship

In addition:
6. U.S. citizenship is not required; however, all research must be conducted in the U.S
7. Applications are encouraged from women, members of minority groups, and people with disabilities

Pre-Application Information:

2019-2020 Application Deadlines and Award Dates:
- November 1, 2019: Application submission opens through proposalCENTRAL
- January 8, 2020: Full proposals due by 5:00 PM Easter Time
- May 2020: Award notifications sent out
- July 1, 2020: Earliest award start date (may be delayed up to 3 months)

More than one application may be submitted from a single institution, but final funding decisions will take
into account a preference to limit multiple awards to one institution.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply online:

For questions about your application, eligibility, or the review process, contact Jennifer Brummet at

For technical difficulties with proposalCENTRAL, please contact their help desk at
or 1-800-875-2562 (toll-free US & Canada).

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming